Cleveland Here We Come!

I’ve wanted to check out the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland for a long time. As a result of participating in Marriott’s Spring Mega Bonus, I picked up 2 category 1-4 certificates. I usually have used those at the NYC airports before an early morning flight. But in Marriott’s latest annual rearranging of hotel categories, the hotels at LGA and JFK are now at least Category 5 properties. I searched through the category 4 hotels in areas I might want to visit and decided to take a trip to Cleveland and stay at the Renaissance Cleveland.

Now I needed to arrange for air transportation to Cleveland. I checked travelocity.com and saw that American flew direct from LGA to Cleveland. Thanks to The Points Guy, when I see American Airlines, I think British Air’s Avios. British Air’s Executive Club awards are distance based rewards, so a roundtrip from LGA to Cleveland costs 9000 Avios compared to 25k AA miles.    A second hat tip is due to The Points Guy when he was the first to inform me of American Express’ 50% bonus for transfers to British Airways. So 2 round trips that cost 18,000 Avios, only cost me 12,000 membership rewards points. If purchased with cash, each ticket would have cost $409.60 equating to a cool 6.7 cents per Amex Membership Reward point redemption. A third hat tip to The Points Guy when he wrote that you can get membership rewards point advances from American Express. I have 50,000 pending points with Amex from the spending bonus for my new platinum card. It would have been another month before those points would have been available to me. I called Amex and they were able to advance me 12,000 membership rewards points to transfer to British Air Executive Club, so I could take advantage of the 50% bonus that expires on 5/31. The advance will be repaid from the 50,000 point bonus.

This is an example of some of the incredible knowledge available in the blogosphere that anyone can take advantage.  Big thanks to Brian, The Points Guy!

Categories: American Airlines, American Express Membership Rewards, British Airways, Cleveland, Marriott, Renaissance, Travel | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

