Timeshare Update

I had some timeshare related news to share.

1) The timeshare I tried to buy for a friend in this post, was snapped up by Marriott under their right of fist refusal (ROFR). I’m still trolling Ebay for a replacement.

2) While we were in Cabo San Lucas, we bought a timeshare at Casa Dorada. I know I have always said to buy resale and not from the developer, but I thought this deal was too good to pass up. The cost was about $34k, which I split with another friend, or $17k each. This allows us unlimited weeks as long as we pay the maintenance fees. We are allowed to rent two units per year to others, which I planning to pocket about 1k each these rentals. We have the ability to get inventory at 22 different resorts and can have weeks deposited into Interval International. More on this to follow.

3)After purchasing the timeshare at Casa Dorada, I looked into selling my Marriott Aruba Surf Club thinking it was the most saleable of the two Marriott weeks I own. Marriott currently has some budget available for buying back some of its timeshares to supplement the Destination points club. On Ebay, Aruba Surf Club Gold weeks have been going in the $5-$6k range and was hoping Marriott would be willing to top that given that there probably aren’t alot of Aruba Surf Club weeks in the Destination points program due to really weak point allocations to join. Well, I was surprised at the low ball $2500 offer from Marriott. I’m reassessing what my next step is. Ironically, Marriott was willing to pay $3k for my Marriott Beachplace week on par with recent Ebay sales.

Categories: Aruba, Casa Dorada, Interval International, Marriott Aruba Surf Club, Marriott BeachPlace, Marriott Grande Vista, Orlando Florida, Timeshare | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.